Join the Campaign


Last Name

Rep. McCoy Files Legislation to Protect Law Enforcement Officers

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Columbia, SC - State Representative Peter McCoy (Republican, James Island/Folly Beach) has filed legislation that will curb violence towards law enforcement officers.

House Bill 3517 creates a mandatory minimum penalty of fifteen years for the offense of attempted murder of a law enforcement officer. This minimum mandatory sentence may not be suspended nor will probation be granted.

Rep. McCoy, a former Assistant Solicitor in 9th Circuit Solicitor Scarlett Wilson's office, said his motivation for this bill came from the recent shooting of Charleston County Sheriff Deputy Jeffrey DeGrow whom was shot while chasing suspected burglars on James Island.

"The criminals who shot Deputy DeGrow came extremely close to taking a true public servant from our community," said Rep. McCoy. "A simple slap on the wrist is not sufficient punishment for the crime they committed."

Thankful for Rep. McCoy's legislation, Deputy DeGrow stated, "Criminals who commit such crimes are not afraid of the consequences because the penalties are not tough enough. I believe Rep. McCoy's bill will make them think twice before committing a crime against law enforcement."

Solicitor Wilson added, "This bill is a great first-step in recognizing the grave risks faced by the brave men and women who put their lives on the line every day to protect us. I commend Rep. McCoy for this piece of legislation and look forward to seeking these strict sentences."

A respected member of the House's Committee on the Judiciary, Rep. McCoy said, "For the safety of our law enforcement officers, I hope this bill moves through Committee and passes through the full House quickly. I am committed to giving my constituents safer neighbors, and this bill will move us one step closer to accomplish that goal."


Current state law leaves the judge with the discretion to sentence the convict from 0-30 years.

Rep. McCoy's bill has been introduced and sent to the House's Committee on the Judiciary.